NDC decides: Meet all 17 NDC MPs who lost

Some members of parliament affiliated with the National Democratic Congress (NDC) were unsuccessful in their effort to continue representing their constituencies in 2024.

At the parliamentary primaries that took place on May 13, 2023, several newcomers gave them a run for their money, which resulted in the loss of seats for sixteen incumbent members of parliament.

Kwabena Donkor, who had previously served as Minister for Power and as Member of Parliament for Pru East, was defeated by Lord Kwaku Boam in the primaries that were conducted on Saturday, May 13, 2023.

Mr. Boam received 474 votes, which was enough to win the election against Kwabena Donkor, who received 371 votes, and Bright Fiawornu, who received 66 votes.

In addition, the incumbent member of parliament for Chiana-Paga, Thomas Dalu, was defeated by a young businessman named Nikyema Alamzy, who received 488 votes to Mr. Dalu’s 300 votes in the election.

READ ALSO:  So far 98% for Mahama; target exceeded, the masses have spoken out loudly – Mogtari

In the race for the seat of MP for Navrongo Central, Simon Akibange Aworigo came out on top with 475 votes, defeating three other candidates, one of which being the current MP, Samson Tangombu Chiragia.

Edward Bawa, the Member of Parliament for the Bongo seat, was also given the “red card” by NDC delegates in his area. Charles Bawaduah was able to defeat him.

NDC decides: Meet all 17 NDC MPs who lost

1. Alex Adomako lost to a newcomer, Hajia Nasira Afrah (Sekyere Afram Plains)

2. Edward Bawa lost with 509 votes as Charles Bawaduah polled 535 votes (Bongo Constituency)

3. Wisdom Gidisu lost with 257 votes to Nelson Kofi Djabab, who had 441 votes (Krachie East)

4. Alhaji A. B. A. Fuseini had 330 votes and lost to Attah Issah who polled 801 votes (Sagnarigu constituency)

READ ALSO:  Conor Coady: English defender from Wolves joins Everton on a temporary basis.

5. Abeiku Crentsil had 149 votes and lost to Dr. Ekow Kwainoo who had 329 votes (Ekumfi Constituency)

6. Dela Sowah had 281 votes and lost to Sebastian Fred Deh who had 332 votes (Kpando Constituency)

7. Dr Kwabena Donkor had 371 votes and lost to Emmanuel Boam who had 474 votes (Pru East)

8. Angela Alorwu-Tay polled 225 votes, losing to her contender, Frank Afriyie who won with 631 votes (Afadzato South)

9. Wisdom Kobena Woyome had 562 votes and lost to Maxwell Kwame Lukutor with 597 votes (South Tongu Constituency)

10. Thomas Addah Dalu also lost with 300 votes to a young businessman, Nikyema Alamzy who polled 488 votes (China-Paga)

11. Sampson Tangombu Chiragia also lost with 447 votes to Simon Akibange Aworigo, who won with 475 votes (Navrongo Central)

READ ALSO:  NDC Polls: Check out when and where Mahama will give formal acceptance speech after victory

12. Augustine Tawiah polled 452 votes and lost to Mustapha Amadu Tanko who had 935 votes (Bia West Constituency)

13. Peter Yaw Kwakye Ackah had 575 votes and lost to Joana Gyan Cudjoe who had 756 votes (Amenfi Central)

14. Sophia Karen Edem Ackuaku (Domeabra-Obom MP but switched to Ayawaso Central)

15. Christian Otuteye (Sege Constituency)

16. Edward Kaale-Ewola Dery (Lambussie)

17. Albert Akuka Alalzuuga (Garu Constituency)

Leave a Reply