Ghana, 53 others on UK’s red list for health workers’ recruitment

Employers in the health and social care industries should not aggressively target Ghana for recruiting as it has been listed on a list of 54 nations that should not be actively targeted for recruitment.

This information was disclosed by the government of the United Kingdom (UK) in its new code of practice for the overseas recruitment of health and social care employees, which was published on the website for NHS Employers.

According to the Code of Practise for International Recruitment, active recruitment of health or social care professionals should not be focused on certain developing nations. These countries include Ghana, Nigeria, Cameroon, and Côte d’Ivoire.

According to a press release that was published on the website of the NHS, the countries in question have a Universal Health Care Service Coverage Index that is lower than 50, and their density of medical professionals (doctors, nurses, and midwives) is lower than the global median. (48.6 per 10,000 population).

READ ALSO:  I’ll be exonerated after the investigation – Cecilia Dapaah speaks after resignation

However, the list does not preclude individual health and social care personnel from applying freely to health and social care employers for employment in the UK, of their own accord and without being targeted by a third party, such as a recruitment agency or employer.

These applications can be made to health and social care businesses for employment in the UK. (known as a direct application).

The countries placed on the red list of no active recruitment’ under the code are: Afghanistan, Angola, Bangladesh, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, the Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, the Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau

The remainder of the countries are as follows: Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Federated States of Micronesia, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Samoa, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, United Republic of Tanzania, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Republic of Yemen, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

READ ALSO:  Akuffo-Addo Screams 'eii!' as a woman shakes big Nyash Vigorously [VIDEO]


Leave a Reply