Christmass gift offer image

FIFA 2030 World Cup: All About FIFA 2030 World Cup

2030 will be the centennial men’s World Cup, and planning has already begun.

Several countries have shown interest in hosting the event in 2030. FIFA will look at them for two years before making a decision in 2024, six years before the event.

The World Cup will increase to 48 teams in 2026, requiring future hosts to work together. For the men’s World Cup, only two multi-nation bids have been submitted, but many are being considered for 2030.

The first men’s World Cup was held in 1930, and it has been held every four years since, with the exception of 1942 and 1946 due to World War II. The 2030 competition would be the 24th edition, unless FIFA makes it a biannual event.

Schedule for the 2022 World Cup

2030 World Cup bidding process and timeframe
FIFA announced that a host country will be chosen at the 74th FIFA Congress in 2024.

This gives the 2030 host six years to prepare.

The selection may be done earlier, as was once suggested for the 2026 World Cup. On that occasion, the combined bid of the USA, Canada, and Mexico requested an expedited bidding procedure. FIFA declined, and Morocco submitted a competing offer.

READ ALSO:  Alex Wagner Parents: Tin Swe Thant, Carl Wagner

Spain, Portugal, and Ukraine want the 2030 FIFA World Cup.

Spain and Portugal announced their 2030 World Cup bids in October 2020.

The “Iberian Bid” refers to the Iberian Peninsula, where these two countries lie. It’s the second time they’ve bid together for a World Cup; they were unsuccessful in 2018 and 2022.

Early in October 2022, Ukraine announced their candidacy to host one group. Ukraine would host three group stage matches with 48 teams.

11 Spanish stadiums from a selection of 15 would host this tournament. Three Portuguese stadiums would be included, while an unknown number of venues in Ukraine would be chosen, though likely only one would be needed.

Spain hosted the 1982 event, which Italy won. Portugal, a rich footballing nation, has never hosted a World Cup, although it did in 2004. Ukraine and Poland co-hosted the 2012 European Championship.

Ukrainian World Cup matches in 2030

Ukraine, which is at war with Russia, is part of Europe’s 2030 World Cup bid. It’s hard to imagine this conflict extending until the 2030 tournament, but it will take years to prepare, and it’s unknown what Ukraine’s capacity will be in the next few years.

With so few matches to manage, their accession to the European bid might tear at the heartstrings of FIFA member nations and the wallets of fans around the world.

Multiple sources say Ukraine President Volodymyr Zelenskiy backs the bid as he fights the Russian assault in the east.

READ ALSO:  ‘Bad Boys 4’ trailer: Will Smith and Martin Lawrence are back in action in first look at ‘Ride or Die’

Some accuse the European Union of political posturing. Since Ukraine will host some few matches, it’s odd that it’s included. Each nation hosting the 2026 World Cup will host at least 10 matches. With only three matches, Ukraine’s participation is questioned.

Spain and Portugal are also not close to Ukraine. Most collaborative bids use close-by countries to maintain the concept of a “host” across borders. Teams traveling from Ukraine for matches will face competition.

The European bid declaration addressed these concerns. “Our bid is no longer an Iberian offer, it’s a European bid,” RFEF president Luis Rubiales said after Ukraine’s involvement was announced.

“I’m sure our bid is superior now.” If football can change so many lives, it should also be used for good.

Uruguay, Argentina, Chile, and Paraguay want the 2030 World Cup.

Uruguay and Argentina declared their joint bid for the 2030 World Cup in July 2017.

Uruguay hosted the first World Cup in 1930, so it would be fitting to organize the 100th anniversary tournament there.

Paraguay joined the bid months after the announcement, and Chile joined in 2019. The first four-nation World Cup bid

Three of the four bid nations have previously hosted the World Cup. Uruguay hosted the Olympics in 1930, Chile in 1962, and Argentina in 1978. Paraguay is the only country in the group that hasn’t hosted a World Cup, but they did host the 2019 FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup.

READ ALSO:  Asamoah Gyan retires: 5 memorable moments from his career [VIDEO]

Morocco’s 2030 World Cup Bid

Morocco bid for the 2030 World Cup in June 2018. The African nation has bid for the FIFA World Cup five times, most recently losing to the USA, Canada, and Mexico in 2026.

South Africa hosted the 2010 FIFA World Cup.

Morocco’s offer for 2026 contained $16 billion for infrastructure, facilities, hotels, and venues.

If a projected joint offer between Saudi Arabia and Egypt fails to materialize, Egypt could join this bid before voting is held. Algeria and Tunisia are possible future additions.

Other 2030 World Cup Bidders

A Saudi Arabia-Egypt bid is gaining speed. Saudi Arabia is ineligible to host since Qatar was given the 2022 World Cup, although they might include a country from another continent. Greece may possibly join.

Bulgaria, Romania, Greece, and Serbia are considering another coalition, though it is unclear whether it will compete with Spain-Portugal-Ukraine. UEFA is backing the Iberian bid over this one.

The UK and Ireland pulled their application because they thought that hosting the 2028 Euros would give them a better chance of getting the European Championship.

Leave a Reply